Time zones and population

Russia is divided into eleven time zones which means when you travel from region to region it is important to check in which time zone you are.
When you travel along Trans-Siberian, you cover at least 10 zones in 7 days.

Moscow, St.Petersburg, Sochi, Karelia, Silver Ring, Golden Ring, Murmansk, Karelia - UTC+03
Irkutsk (Baikal) - UTC+8
Far East: Vladivostok, Khabarovsk - UTC+10
Kamchatka – UTC+1

There are about 20 cities in Russia in each district of the country with the population over 1 million citizens, though the territory of the Country is big, there are thousands of little towns and villages, where only several hundreds of people may live.

Moscow – over 20 million citizens
St. Petersburg – over 5 million citizens
Kazan, Ekaterinburg, Novosibirsk – over 1, 3 million citizens
Murmansk – about 1 million citizens
Irkutsk, Vladivostok – about 800 000 citizens

Made on